Greece, thoughts, winter and change…….

So I am back from Greece, despite my reservations about going, for the first time in a long time I actually enjoyed that time.

Day after day of endless heat, burning sun, blue skys and an ocean so clear you could see the bottom.

The hotel was perfect, rooms overlooking the ocean, balcony /patio area and fully air conditioned. The hotel was busy but never too busy to grab a lounger by the pool or a choice of tables at meal times.

Great company, a good book and some time to clear my head.

I didn’t realise just how messed up my thoughts had become, how lost with in myself I had become, I think I needed that time away more than I knew.

Back home and my tan is already starting to fade, but not the memories, Its easy I suppose to slip back to how things were before I left, but I don’t want to do that. I left something on that beautiful island, something I long since should have left behind.

Change now hangs in the air, not just from a personal point, but also with in my working life and I have to prepare myself to face this, It may open new doorways but a lot of old ones will no doubt close.

The winds of winter hang, limp with in the air, just beyond sight, but edging ever closer as Persephone, Demeter’s only daughter prepares to return to Pluto her husband in Hades, the underworld, and for four months as Demeter looses her daughter, it becomes as if nature herself has died.

I like the many analogies the Ancient Greeks had to explain and understand the natural world around them and how they worked with nature to explain and understand, though this is evident in many early cultures.

I think this is what has become lost in translation, diluted, we are not isolated individuals, but a much bigger part of a living breathing world, we are significant in our presence but insignificant in the whole, kind of like grass all the roots interconnected and interwoven, we are just as much ourselves as we are a whole.

Things matter and how we act, how we grow, how we treat each other, how we treat this very beautiful planet we have been given the privilege to live on matters, every thought, every action woven into one great patch work of life and we are not seeing the beauty of that or the importance.

We are not nature, we are a part of nature, we can not control her, we can only live with her.

I have been struggling with the fact “We are just given a life” the one thing nobody asks anything for so how do we make it matter? Make this massive, massive thing we are just given matter? Really matter? Classic cliché I could not see the wood for the trees, all I was seeing its what we do to each other, hurt, kill, destroy, look only to ourselves and “Fuck what’s left behind” the people we hurt, the damage we do, the destruction of the place we live, yet some how even the absurdist’s and the existentialist’s found some kind of equilibrium, a kind of twisted happy medium by which to at least accept and enjoy this life.

Yet I have not been able to do that and it wasn’t really till I was laying out on my back on the waves of the Greek ocean, that the seeds of doubt set in my mind, I was drifting on the current, up and down on the waves, feeling myself pulled further and further out, part of me thinking I need to pull back to shore and the other just enjoying the tranquillity, the blue sky and the baron mountains, the total and utter freedom.

I kind of realised in those moments, that it mattered not the outcome, if I slipped to far out and drowned, then I would simply decompose and become a part of this great ocean and in some way feed and nourish new life, thus in a different sphere of existence, continuing the cycle, with in Poseidon’s realm.

“Energy can not be created or destroyed, it merely changes from one form to another”

We are not here, to exist like this, but to live, to love the beauty of our planet, there are no wrongs and rights, just people trying to find a way to embrace life and we need to embrace each other, accept each other just as every plant in my garden is unique so are we.

“When all the trees have been cut down, when all the animals have been hunted, when all the waters are polluted, when all the air is unsafe to breathe, only then will people discover you cannot eat money.”

~ by Duma Key on August 27, 2015.

3 Responses to “Greece, thoughts, winter and change…….”

  1. Wow!!… loved this Post Duma.. and Loved this paragraph my friend
    “We are not here, to exist like this, but to live, to love the beauty of our planet, there are no wrongs and rights, just people trying to find a way to embrace life and we need to embrace each other, accept each other just as every plant in my garden is unique so are we.”

    I couldn’t have phrased it any better..

    Love and Light and you are going to OK.. 🙂

  2. I have missed reading you…this was so deep for me…read several paragraphs over several times…was actually beautiful to me…inspiring…thank you for that

Leave a Reply

 
