Just when did a day off become not a day off?

Yesterday for the first time in a few weeks, I actually had a day off, expect it didn’t really turn out to be a day off! More like a day with twice the normal work load.

Free time, meant catch up time. Catch up on all the things that I have not had a chance to do. The morning was dominated by a full on deep clean, bleaching the bathroom tiles, washing skirting boards and door frames and the inside windows.

Never ending pile of washing as I stripped the bedding in the guest rooms, washed the clothes and the various throws I use to protect the leather on the sofas in the lounge.

Then the conservatory glass, which is a real pain to clean, there is so much of it.

Friend came over for lunch, so that was cooking and washing and when I turned around it was 7pm and I still had not done half the things I planned, and some how there still seemed to be more washing than when I started, not to mention the ironing. Sure the bloody stuff is breeding!

My friend found it highly amusing as I was hanging out washing, folding clothes and organising, just how domesticated I had become. Guess that must have happened with “S” when the kids life’s, well being and organisation become more important than your own, I never really noticed the change.

Just when did a day off become not really a day off? Just when did I slip into this routine of normality, a principle I fought so long and hard to avoid? I never even managed to put the playstaion on, goodness I even made my grandma a pie the other week, just what have I become lol.

Please if I start going to bingo, somebody shoot me!

So today I am back at work, for a rest, except it’s not my work, I am covering my friends business while he is on holiday…….then Sunday evening back to my real job………after working the day in Sheffield!

Just thought I would share my exciting day off……lol

~ by Duma Key on May 16, 2014.

7 Responses to “Just when did a day off become not a day off?”

  1. made me giggle actually…..thanks

  2. LOL.. loved how you gave everywhere a good ‘fettle’ as we say here in the East Mids.. I was born in Sheffield.. πŸ˜‰
    And you can come to my house any day off and start the same routine..
    It was my turn today to bleach the bathroom tiles and scrub inbetween them LOL… I am back on lates tomorrow Friday πŸ™‚

    Such are the joys of domestic chores πŸ™‚ good to see you embracing them though.. πŸ˜‰ xxx

    • Lol there is something therapeutic about cleaning, some rock or gangzter rap blasting and time with thoughts, not very gangzter though cleaning windows and the tops of door frames! I kind of got normal.

      • πŸ™‚ one thing Duma, not many men would even think of the tops of door frames… LOL… or skirting boards… they think they clean themselves.. πŸ™‚ thats why anytime you want to unwind on a day off LOL… hahaha… my dusters are at your disposal hehe..

      • I may pass on that lol! I like sitting in the house after it’s clean to my standard and reading or thinking, like I sort my head through the physical connection the anger and violence is purged and I feel free for a while, but it never ends…..two days later and dust…ha but that’s life!

      • Yes, such is life.. Dust to Dust, Ashes to Ashes… but we learn to Live in between… Keep Living dear Duma… you are fine.. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
