My post for the week

My post for the week, thanks to a good online friend….I have been thinking about music…things that matter at the point in time I post….so this is somthing reflecting my thoughts at the moment.

I just want to feel safe in my own skin
I just want to be happy again
I just want to feel deep in my own world
but I’m so lonely I don’t even want to be with myself anymore
On a different day if I was safe in my own skin
then I wouldn’t feel so lost and so frightened
But this is today and I’m lost in my own skin

And I’m so lonely I don’t even want to be with myself anymore

I just want to feel safe in my own skin
I just want to be happy again

~ by Duma Key on January 11, 2012.

4 Responses to “My post for the week”

  1. *sigh*

    The first time I heard this girl sing I felt like I was hearing the whispers of the disillusionment of a generation.

    Finally the children of this decade were understanding that even their parents didn’t believe they could achieve anything they wanted to achieve or become anything they wanted to become if they just believed in themselves and tried their very best…

    Feeling safe in your own skin started to become a luxury – a safe place anywhere became a dream.

    Always being fed images of happy people engaged in self indulgent pursuits created a false economy of hope based on the material while the spiritual became the product of the new century – snake oil for the soul.

    The clothed shower in this video was very moving – we want to be cleansed, healed…

    Naked is too exposed – there must always be a barrier between us and a true connection to what we need the most.

    Friendship.

    Love.

    Acceptance.

    *hug*

    Thank you for posting D.

    Love,
    L.

    • I stumbled across her with Stan by Eminem, somthing of her voice struck me, its like a sweet sadness….bitter sweet like meloncholy I guess.

      I often find her words haunt me, there is a beauty in the solitude of her music.

      I like very much your analogy above kind of given me a new line of thought on a project I am working on….it was missing something…..and I think you brought it to me.

      We are all lost, yet face the image of a perfect world…..I often wonder these days how real reality actually is.

  2. I love this song.

Leave a Reply

 
